Euro 2020 qualifying draw: England meet Czech Republic, Netherlands to face Germany

Euro 2020 qualifying draw: England meet Czech Republic, Netherlands to face Germany

Euro 2020 qualifying draw: England meet Czech Republic, Netherlands to face Germany

England have to qualify for the Euro 2020 tournament despite being among the twelve nations to have been granted a host city in a historic tournament, but Southgate hopes that will act as an extra incentive for his players to make it to the big show. It capped a miserable year for Germany that saw the world champions deposed with a group-stage exit in Russian Federation in June.

Gareth Southgate's side, which this year unexpectedly reached the World Cup semifinals and advanced to the Nations League Final Four, was drawn alongside Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Montenegro and Kosovo.

Group D: Switzerland, Denmark, Republic of Ireland, Georgia, Gibraltar.

Azerbaijan, another host nation, were also moved from Ireland's group with Gibraltar then drawn into Ireland's group.

Croatia has been drawn in Group E alongside Wales, Slovakia, Hungary and Azerbaijan.

While they certainly aren't guaranteed to qualify for Euro 2020, Irish football fans will be feeling more optimistic than this time last week.

Holders Portugal also topped their group in the Nations League and will face Ukraine, Serbia, Lithuania and Luxembourg as they try and defend their title.

"We need to improve and get back to being among the top teams".

Читайте также: Is Priyanka Chopra Still Upset With Nick Jonas Over A Kiss?

England's group in the Euro qualifiers.

Wales face World Cup finalists Croatia, Scotland, who also have a play-off to look forward to if they don't qualify, are joined by Belgium and Russian Federation and Republic of Ireland are up against Switzerland and Denmark, who beat them in qualification for last summer's World Cup.

World champions France will begin their hunt to claim a second major worldwide tournament in succession by facing Iceland, Turkey, Albania, Moldova and Andorra.

Elsewhere three-times champions Spain were drawn in Group F with Sweden, Norway and Romania.

Italy, which failed to qualify for the World Cup, is in Group J with Bosnia-Herzegovina, Finland, Greece, Armenia and Liechtenstein.

So, instead, McCarthy's team went into Group D, where they will play Denmark yet again.

The winners and runners up from each of the twelve groups will progress to the 24-team tournament.

При любом использовании материалов сайта и дочерних проектов, гиперссылка на обязательна.
«» 2007 - 2019 Copyright.
Автоматизированное извлечение информации сайта запрещено.

Код для вставки в блог

Related news