Modric wanted Ronaldo, Messi at awards ceremony

Modric wanted Ronaldo, Messi at awards ceremony

Modric wanted Ronaldo, Messi at awards ceremony

Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Best Men's Award for the last three years but looks like he and Lionel Messi are absent for tonight's grand award ceremony.

Modric's win breaks the Lionel Messi-Ronaldo duopoly of the last 10 years and it follows his player of the tournament prize at Russian Federation 2018 and UEFA player of the year accolade last month.

The Real Madrid midfielder, 33, beat former team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo, now with Juventus, and Liverpool's Mohamed Salah to the award.

The Puskas Award is Fifa's way of recognising the most lovely goal scored in the past year and Salah's gorgeous effort against Everton last December was voted the best. Mohamed Salah's curling effort against Everton won that award.

N'golo Kante and Luka Modric were chosen in the centre of midfield, while Lionel Messi, Eden Hazard and Kylien Mbappe made up the first layer of the attack, with Cristiano Ronaldo completing the line-up.

"Thanks to my fans for all the great support and love they are showing me".

Debate is guaranteed, particularly after Ronaldo's unannounced absence in Monaco for UEFA's award ceremony - when he discovered that he was not the player of the year.

"This trophy is also for my family, without whom I would not be the person that I am".

"I've always wanted to see a woman win this prestigious award", Brazil global Marta told France Football.

Messi was also nominated for the Puskas Award for the best goal.

The award were presented at this season's Champions League group-stage draw.

Belgian Thibaut Courtois, a recent Real Madrid transfer from Chelsea, won the best goalkeeper award.

Both Messi and Ronaldo were named in the FIFPro World XI but neither were in London to collect their prizes.

Among the others honored in London were Peru's travelling supporters, who lit up their first World Cup in 36 years and German player Lennart Thy.

Voting for the player and coach categories was conducted by national team captains and managers, selected journalists and, for the first time, an online poll of fans.

Related news