FIFA Best Player: Hazard reveals who he voted for

FIFA Best Player: Hazard reveals who he voted for

FIFA Best Player: Hazard reveals who he voted for

"I don't want to enter into the debate of whether it is deserved or not", he said.

"Everyone has their own reasons", said Modric.

In the past decade Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have won every award going more or less, so Modric makes a change.

Modric took the honour following another success-laden season with Real Madrid, in which he helped the club to another Champions League victory for a third consecutive season.

The 26-year-old's strike in last season's Merseyside derby against Everton at Anfield was awarded the prestigious award.

"I'm very happy and very proud", he said at the podium.

However, Portugal´s last 16 exit to Uruguay in Russian Federation and Ronaldo´s failure to score in the semi-finals or final of the Champions League opened the door for Modric.

Plenty of football fans around the globe have questioned this year's Puskas as they claimed Salah's wasn't anywhere near the best effort from the season past.

Sergio Ramos, Dani Alves, Marcelo, Luka Modric, N´Golo Kante, Eden Hazard, Kylian Mbappe, David De Gea and Raphael Varane after being named in the Fifa Fifpro World XI with Michael Ballack, Ronaldinho and Idris Elba. In August this year at an event in Monaco, Modric was named Europe's best player.

The Champions League overhead kicks of former Real Madrid teammates Gareth Bale and Ronaldo were two of the most memorable goals of the past year - but came up short of an award. The coach award in the women's game went to Reynald Pedros, the Frenchman who led Lyon to French league and Champions League glory.

Newly signed Real Madrid goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois won the best goalkeeper's award - beating Kasper Schmeichel and Hugo Lloris in the process.

"Congrats Mohamed Salah on your seventh best goal from last season winning goal of the year #baller #topbin #oneofmanyworldies", Milner tweeted.

France´s World Cup-winning coach Didier Deschamps won the best coach of the year prize in recognition for his work in leading Les Bleus to success in Russian Federation.

Related news